Ethics Commitee

Ethics Commitee


The Institutional Ethics committee (IEC) is constituted for the Biomedical and Health Research involving human participants conducted at SDM College of Medical Sciences & Hospital, Dharwad, Karnataka.

The IEC will function as per Schedule Y and CDSCO guidelines (Rule 7- of the New drugs and Clinical Trial Rules, 2019), ICH GCP guidelines and ethical guidelines for Biomedical and Health Research involving Human Participants, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) and Department of health research (DHR).

The IEC, SDM College of Medical Sciences & Hospital has been registered with the following regulatory authorities: Registration Number.

  1. Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO), DCGI   ECR/950/Inst/KA/2017/RR-21
  2. National Ethics Committee Registry for Biomedical & Health Research, DHR: EC/NEW/INST/2021/1761
  3. HHS, USA: IORG- 0007404
Dr. Rathnamala M. Desai (Principal and Authority)

Principal of SDM College of Medical Sciences and Hospital is the Authority of IEC

Sl No Member Role Role
1 Dr. Ram Kaulgud (External Member) Chairperson
2 Dr. Radhika Sherkhane Basic Scientist
3 Dr. S V Torgal Clinician
4 Dr. Jyoti Hallad (External Member) Social Scientist
5 Mr. Shubhendu Akalwadi (External Member) Legal Expert
6 Ms. Sujata Anishettar (External Member) Lay Person
7 Dr. Satish G Patil Member Secretary
8 Ms. Smriti Kulkarni Office Assistant